Happy Friday, everyone!
With my cleanse program releasing on December 15th (Yay!!!), I thought I would do a little informative post about strict veganism versus a plant-based diet. I consider myself a cross between the two – something I call a plant-based vegan. I do not consume animal products but I also avoid processed foods, wheat gluten and certain meat alternatives. I try to eat a diet that consists of whole, natural plant-based foods.
(P.S. These are the first photos I am releasing from the cleanse!!! Get excited!)
I am not 100% plant-based, because I do consume tofu and tempeh on occasion. I am a strict vegan but I do not go out of my way to be 100% cruelty-free (there are egg whites in my shampoo! Sue me if you must) and I don’t always check to make sure that my cosmetics were not animal-tested.
I am very passionate about animal rights, but my main reason for being vegan is my health.
Which is also why I consume honey – I think that raw, local honey is humane and I am into veganism for my health and happiness, so even if it doesn’t fall under the label of strict veganism… guess what? Call me a rebel, but I am OK with it.
If you are new around here, let me be the first to tell you that I do not judge if you eat a predominantly vegan or vegetarian diet but you aren’t completely strict about it. If you have been around my blog for a while, you know how I feel about “vegan Nazis” (please don’t get offended by this term – it just works!).
Putting someone down because they don’t eat the same way you do is going to turn them off of your diet in general… *cough cough vegan honey Nazis* so why not instead advocate finding what is right for YOUR individual body and falling in love with that lifestyle?! Ohhh yeah.
The Blonde Vegan 5-Day Cleanse is plant-based, but even a step further: fruit & vegetable based.
Enjoy this nifty little chart!
|Definition:||“the practice of abstaining from the use of animal products, particularly in diet, as well as an associated philosophy that rejects the commodity status of sentient animals. A follower of veganism is known as a vegan.”||“a diet based on vegetables, grains, legumes and fruit, with little or no animal products (including dairy)” that can refer to veganism, raw veganism, fruitarianism, vegetarianism, macrobiotic and more.|
|Animal Rights:||Veganism is deeply rooted in animal rights, so vegans traditionally abstain from wearing leather, fur, wool and silk, and also from using animal-tested cosmetics.||Plant-based doesn’t necessarily mean having a moral issue with using animal products when it does not come to food.|
|Processed Foods:||Vegan just means the absence of animal products and animal by-products. Processed foods may still be consumed (i.e. Oreos and Twizzlers are vegan!!! Ew.)||Plant-based diets revolve around whole, natural, plant foods. Nothing processed!|
|Bread and Pasta:||Vegans can generally eat bread and pasta products, because most breads and pastas are not made with eggs or dairy. Always be sure to check the label just in case – casein, whey (milk product and milk protein) are often added to breads.|
Many gluten-free breads contain eggs or egg whites, so be extra careful with those labels.
|Most breads and pastas are not made from whole, plant-based foods. Even if bread is being sold as “whole wheat,” if it contains white flour, wheat flour, enriched flour, all purpose flour, etc. then it is not whole wheat and therefore is not natural.
Make sure there is no added sugar or oil as well to stick to plant-based. Trader Joes has some good options.
|Meat Alternatives:||Tofu, tempeh and seitan are the three most popular meat alternatives that all fall under the vegan diet. Tofu is soy-based, tempeh is made from fermented soybeans and other grains, and seitan is mainly made from wheat gluten.||Plant-based does not include meat alternatives, as they are often processed and are not entirely derived from plants. That being said, I have found some delicious homemade tempeh recipes that are plant-based! It just tastes a little different than tempeh you would normally find in a store.|
|Lifestyle:||Veganism is most definitely a lifestyle, including advocating for animal rights, abstaining from animal by-products, not shopping in stores that sell leather/fur, etc. I find some of this a bit extreme, but the traditional definition of veganism includes these things.||Plant-based does not necessarily have to be a lifestyle, but I have found that if often turns into one. It is an extreme way of eating (in the best way possible), so you are naturally going to start making other healthy changes in your life.|
|Honey:||Traditional vegans do not eat honey because it falls under the umbrella of animal by-products. To read about my stance on the honey controversy, read my post titled "Fall in Love with Yourself."||Local, raw honey falls under the category of plant-based.
* I consume raw, natural honey and absolutely could not live without it. It has so many incredible health benefits
|Alcohol:||Yes, vegans can drink alcohol! Sometimes there are animal products in alcohol, which include: isinglass, carmine, gelatin, egg whites, honey, milk or casein. Always be sure to check the label or talk to the bartender about what is in your drink.||Hard alcohol, wine and beer are all simple carbohydrates, which certain plant-based vegans try to stay away from. It depends on your reasons for being plant-based. If you are doing it to recover from an illness or purely for health reasons, then you would usually abstain from alcohol. This is really a personal choice.|